Monday Blog / 4 September

I’m jumping into all of this a little last minute without much knowledge about how or what I should be doing, but that can be good right? I still have thoughts!

For this post, I’m choosing to respond to “like stars in a clear night sky” by Shariff Ezzat.

And what better way to start off a semester of e-lit than with a particularly striking line: “I am full of stories.”

Compared to other e-lit pieces I’ve come across, this played more ethereal. The formatting is lovely, and the sounds/voice works surprisingly well for being played out of my computer speakers. I didn’t mute it, which is important. Even the font is really sweet. “Pretty” I suppose.

In this piece, a calming male voice begins by speaking in arabic while english subtitles appear on the bottom of the screen. Everything that is said appears once again when the voice stops, little pieces of the monologue can be found when scrolling over one of the pages many stars.

The small bits of text you get when clicking on a star read like short poems. I’m sure you could spend a long time digging into them, but they read to me like a lullaby.

Not every star on the page has a story attached, and searching for them takes patience. However, the page had a sort of calming effect — I didn’t feel like running my mouse all over so I could be done quickly. When you finally land on a story it’s like finding a little gem or present.

These are mere observations, and they’re not very analytic (I’ll get better). All I know for certain is that some e-lit texts have horrible graphics, and some are lovely. I enjoy the pretty ones more, and the sound of bells and bird chirps doesn’t hurt.

Screen Shot 2017-09-04 at 1.24.48 AM
my favorite. am I “you” ?
Leave a Reply

