Oh, Gay Planet

I hated “The Hunt for the Gay Planet,” but before people started talking I was scared to say this in class. It’s nice to know that we’re allowed to hate stuff — this is important in any field of study, ESPECIALLY literature.

“The Hunt for the Gay Planet” was, to me, boring and tedious. It reminded me of one of those poorly written “choose your own adventure” books from my youth where I’d turn to both page options to see which was more exciting only to find out neither was.

I don’t want this blog post to go on like a negative literature review, but what can I say? There are many things I can think of that would really (maybe only in my opinion!) improve the piece (having the links/branches disappear after clicking them, different colors and fonts, less adjectives). Sometimes it sounded like a mad-lib, and “chubby girl with an eyepatch over one nipple” is a terribly clunky sentence.

Something that I dislike about the twine pieces is that they’re often written in second person. I can’t remember the last time I read an enjoyable piece of literature (in any form) written in second person. Again, I recall those “choose your own adventure books.” Its silly to use “you/your” adjectives because nothing that is done is something I would do; I’m lost right away. Maybe if the main character had a name and a deeper sense of identity I’d be eager to get to know them?

In class we talked about criteria for getting your piece in the electronic literature collection, and how oftentimes particularly good pieces are left out because they’re not fresh. Doesn’t putting a piece in a collection just because it adds some novelty hurt both author and reader? If I was given easy entrance because my piece was “different” I don’t think I’d really stretch myself to create at the height of my ability. I’m always always always excited about seeing new voices and fresh perspectives exhibited in the art world, but I don’t think we should sacrifice quality for it.

And the final quote: “I am the love that dare not squeak its name.” I like the allusion, but there’s nothing more here that really holds me. Why squeak instead of speak? I don’t care enough to figure it out, and that’s the problem.

 

Leave a Reply

