On, well … “me”

I’ve fallen into a rabbit hole of Instagram-related self analysis. I don’t know who I am anymore.

As I’ve written before, my project is a sort of net-prov that examines our relationship to Instagram and how the platform molds our sense of self in this day and age. Would we like beets as much if their pink hue showed up less nicely on a screen?

Basically, I hired an “Instagram curator” (you don’t know about them for personal use because no one wants you to know there’s someone else behind their feed), to expertly curate my profile during my time abroad. I hired the curator because, as this is quite possibly a one time thing, I need my Instagram to show off a lifestyle that can only be achieved abroad — specifically in Norway. Someday my grid will be the perfect souvenir, inspiring jealousy now and for years to come when someone falls into the slippery world of scrolling.

IMG_7248.PNG
Accidental post of the behind the scenes instead of the for-publication caption. Is something going on?
IMG_7249.PNG
Feed as of November 12, 2017
Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 11.11.25 PM.png
Work on first post of travels. From Tumblr site (still figuring out format).
IMG_7250.PNG
Behind every selfie post

And while it’s entertaining to write blueprints and joke about all that goes into the creation of a post  … so much of this stuff actually goes through my head. When the platform first arrived I would post nonchalantly, now everything involves some deep thinking. I need to figure out a way to separate myself from the creation of the project, because getting too wrapped up in might make me crazy.

While Instagram is my main tool, I’ve also created a Tumblr page that looks like an Instagram feed in order to provide more information and links in a cohesive space that Instagram is unable to give me. The hardest part so far has been establishing an interesting curator persona, and looking at other feeds to find examples of stuff she may have worked on. The interesting (and kinda cool) thing about it is that no one’s feed matches mine; we’re doing our job right.

 

Leave a Reply

